NEW ZEALAND 2001 ONE-MONTH BIRDING TRIP. April 12-May 12, 2001

Report 1. Thu-Sat April 12-14. To Auckland. We Hit the Ground Birding. Our Motorhome. Orewa Beach.
Report 2. Sun April 15. Orewa Beach North. Dotterel Sanctuary. Kauri Forest.
Report 3. Mon-Tue April 16-17. Tiri Tiri Matangi Island Sanctuary. The Brown Kiwi Chase.
Report 4. Wed-Thu April 18-19. Miranda Estuary. To old Stanford Roommate Bill's in Hamilton.
Report 5. Fri-Sat April 20-21. Tongariro National Park and Blue Ducks. South to Foxton Beach, West Coast.
Report 6. Sun-Mon April 22-23. Foxton Beach. Ferry Crossing to South Island.
Report 7. Tue-Wed April 24-25. Picton to Westport for Westland Petrel. Punakaiki for Great Spotted Kiwi.
Report 8. Thu-Fri April 26-27. Punakaiki to Haast, including the Glaciers. On to Te Anau.
Report 9. Sat-Sun April 28-29. Milford Sound Cruise. The Bad Day.
Report 10. Mon-Tue-Wed April 30, May 1-2. To Invercargill (South Island, southern tip). To Stewart Island. Best Shot at a Kiwi Spot.
Report 11. Thu-Fri May 3-4. Soaring Albatrosses. Where are the Penguins? The Black Stilt Search Around Twizel.
Report 12. Sat-Mon May 5-7. Black Stilts Anyone? Arthur's Pass for Rock Wren. To Christchurch, Picton.
Report 13. Tue-Wed May 8-9. Ferry to North Island. Lake Taupo Bittern Search. Earth Crakes.
Report 14. Thu-Fri-Sat May 10-11-12. A Day Off for R&R. The Kiwi House. Goin' Home. The Bird List.

BEST OF NEW ZEALAND:

My Favorite 21 Things About New Zealand
My Bird Category WINNERS!!
My BEST PICTURES -- Birds
My BEST PICTURES -- NonBirds
[Sharon may put out her BESTS later. She works, you know]


Back to Birding Trips
Home